

# Hockey Bengal

**Hockey Bengal** (formerly *Bengal Hockey Association*) is the oldest hockey organisation in India. It was established in 1908 which is 17 years before the Indian Hockey Federation, the then National Sports Federation was founded.

Hockey Bengal has a very rich history and unmatched legacy in India. It has played a very important role in the development of hockey in India. The first ever hockey match played in India was in Kolkata (then Calcutta) in 1894. It was in 1928 that the Indian Hockey Federation organised the first National Championships in Kolkata. The team selection for the 1928 Olympics hockey team to represent India was done in after the National championships in Kolkata.

Hockey Bengal has the distinction of giving India, **21 Hockey Olympians who have together won 27 Golds, 01 Silver and 03 Bronze Medals in Olympics between 1948 and 1980,** which no other Sport in West Bengal has achieved so far. Even when the last Hockey Olympic Gold was won by India in the 1980 Moscow Olympics, Olympian Bir Bahadur Chhetri of Bengal was a very important member of that team.

Hockey Bengal is the proud organiser of the Beighton Cup, the *world's oldest knockout hockey tournament* which is running till date. **Beighton Cup was started in 1895** and this year it was the 125<sup>th</sup> edition which was held in Kolkata from 19<sup>th</sup> to 28<sup>th</sup> January 2024. Indian Navy defended their maiden title and retained the coveted trophy for second year running.

## Calcutta Hockey League 2024 (Men)

Hockey Bengal proudly organizes the **Calcutta Hockey League (CHL)**, started in 1905 it is the *oldest field Hockey League in India*. It is a division based hockey league. The First Division was started in 1905 and later the Second Division was added in 1907. The 3<sup>rd</sup> Division was started in 1920 and the 4<sup>th</sup> Division in 1932. 1<sup>st</sup> Division Group "B" was started in 1933. Notably, in **2022 East Bengal Club were the champions**. They had resumed playing in the CHL after a gap of more than 20 years. Last year **Mohun Bagan Club** too started participating after a gap of more than 23 years and were the proud **champions of CHL23**. This year the CHL is starting from 8<sup>th</sup> February, 2024. This year **Mohammedan Sporting Club is also taking part in the CHL 2024, 1<sup>st</sup> Division Group A**.

Every year nearly 72 hockey clubs (Men & Women) including Central & State Government departmental and local teams participate in about 353 matches which are played in the 3 enclosed grounds viz. Mohun Bagan, East Bengal and Mohammedan Sporting grounds, at Hockey Bengal ground along with other 10 open grounds which gets wide coverage by the media regularly.

## Tournaments (Men & Women)

Hockey Bengal organizes Six tournaments for different Divisions and Age groups so that maximum number of players get an opportunity to participate. About 74 teams of Kolkata including the Central and State Government Departmental sides as also Local clubs, Academies and Schools. Total of 175 matches are played for the Six prestigious Trophies and Cups presented in an awards function held during National Sports Day celebrations on 29<sup>th</sup> August every year.



## 125<sup>th</sup> Beighton Cup 2024

All India Beighton Cup hockey tournament is considered to be "the Blue Riband of Indian Hockey". Hockey Bengal is the proud organiser of the world's oldest field hockey knockout tournament, being played since 1895. Almost all the Olympians and National players have played one time or other in this most prestigious & historical tournament of India.

This year it was the 125<sup>th</sup> edition and it was conducted in SAI hockey ground, Salt lake, Kolkata. It started from 19<sup>th</sup> January 2024 and the final was palyed on 28<sup>th</sup> January 2024. A total of 6 local teams and 14 outstation teams took part and Indian Navy defeated Indian Oil Corporation in a keenly contested match which went into tie break to retain the title for 2<sup>nd</sup> year running.

## **Hockey India National Championships**

Every year, Hockey Bengal participates in all the Six categories (Sub Junior, Junior & Senior) of Hockey India National Championships for both Men & Women and the East Zone Championship of Sub Junior & Junior categories both Boys and Girls.

This year the Bengal Senior Women team finished at a creditable 8<sup>th</sup> position. It has also participated in the 37 National Games, Goa.

From last 2 years the Senior Men team has been participating in the National Games.

### **<u>Celebrations and awards.</u>**

Hockey India recognized the efforts of Hockey Bengal and awarded the Best State Unit Award to Hockey Bengal for the year 2021-22

Every year on 25<sup>th</sup> March Hockey Bengal celebrates the Birth Anniversary of Hockey Legend, Padma Shree Leslie Walter Claudius (Triple Olympic Gold & One Olympic Silver Medal)

On 29<sup>th</sup> August which is celebrated all over as the National Sports Day to celebrates birth anniversary of Hockey Wizard Major Dhyan Chand (Triple Olympic Gold Medalist) Hockey Bengal organises its Annual Sports Awards on a grand scale where the prize winners of all the leagues and cups are given awards.

#### **Bengal State Hockey Championship 2024**

West Bengal presently has 23 Districts out of which 18 Districts participate in the State Hockey Championships (Men & Women) in the 3 categories (Sub Junior, Junior & Senior) The 18 teams play 172 matches in all from where the players for the State team are selected for participating in the Hockey India National Championships.